Rudi Monastery

Rudi Monastery, also known as Rughi Monastery, is located on the bank of the Nistru River, 15 km from the town of Otaci. In 1777, with the blessing of Bishop Inochentie from Husi (1752 – 17820), a Moldovan style stone church celebrating the feast of the Holy Trinity was founded. 

After buying the Rudi family estate, the new owner Mihai Bogus destroyed the monastery. In 1845 his daughter, Anastasia, died tragically. A year after her death, Bogus' second daughter died as well. This was seen as a kind of punishment for Bogus. At the age of 62 he passed away. The Bogus family was buried on the territory of the monastic complex. There is a stone with the inscription “Mihai Bogus, died in 1846”. Near his grave are the graves of his daughters. On the left wall of the hermitage is another inscription: “Here were buried the monastery founders, Teodor and Andronachi Rudi”. 

In 1846, local authorities made the decision to close Rudi Monastery church. It was brought under the care of the Rudi village parish. Mihai Rosea, a close relative of Bogus, became the owner of the monastery. He transformed the holy place into a residence for servants. The monastic complex was abandoned and partially demolished. 

In October 1921, with the support of Archbishop Visarion Puiu, Rudi Monastery was reopened. Its restoration was approved by local authorities. 

During World War II the monastery was under the guidance of the Abbot Ioachim Barbus. At that time 30 monks inhabited the monastic territory. After the war, the monastic complex was converted into an orphanage. It became a hospital for children. The Holy Trinity church became a depot. In 1990 the hospital was evacuated. Two years later it was abandoned. 

In 1992, Rudi Monastery was settled by three monks: the priest Malchisedec and two monks from Romania. In 1993, renovation work began at the monastery. A year later, the restoration of the Holy Trinity church also commenced. 

Location:

Rudi village, Soroca

Accessibility:

The monastery is open every day from 6:00 to 20:00, including week-ends. Access for disables is not provided.

Contact:

Tel: (+373 251) 93-777

GSM: (+373) 671-93-555

Entry Fee:

No

Activities:

Religious service

Festivals or Events:

 Monastery’s hram is on 50th day after the Easter

This web-site was developed with the support of the National Inbound Tourism Association’s members
ceed-logo-big

This website was developed with the support from the USAID CEED II project.
Its contents does not necessarily reflect the views of the USAID or United States Government.
Website Legal Disclaimer.